Dear President Duterte,

First of all, I would like to thank God for helping you become the President of the Philippines. Sorry, but “wala ta ikaw gin boto”, it was because I am a staunch supporter of Sen. Miriam Defensor Santiago. Back then, I was wary of your style and your personality.  I was afraid that you might become a monster but hearing your first State of the Nation Address; I must admit, I was wrong to judge you.

Mr. President, (I know you issued your first Executive Order not to address you Honorable or His Excellency), I must abide therefore. Thank you for giving us HOPE to believe in our government. I personally, since the time I understood the filthiness and tardiness of the government, I then lose my respect and high regards.

I see politicians as mere objects of corruption—stealing money from the people’s coffers. It is because of you that I begin to see the new bright image of a true and passionate statesman. You help us appreciate the positive side of being a public servant shattering the belief that good deeds are merely the silhouette of politicians in order to hide their dark and mischievous agenda.

Today, you resuscitated my belief that good men can still win and prevail.

My tears are flowing because your words are so reflective of truth and practicality. You possess the compassion and the common sense that even you expressed care for the accessibility of the MRT tickets and the expiration of Philippine passports. You knew the symphony and the meaning of the cries of the poor and suffering Filipinos.

At last we have a president who listens, cares and has the balls to say what is right though, it will be excruciating to the skin of the hypocrites in Barong and Filipiniana.

I admire your courage Mr President in your dream to effect long lasting peace in the Philippines. Your dedication to fulfill your promise to make this country a safer place to live in, through raging war against crime and illegal drugs up to the point of risking your life is a form of heroism. You inspired us to become selfless and nationalistic; an attribute that we young Filipinos fail to internalize.

As much as I want to hug you, but it’s impossible for now, I want to extend my deepest respect and gratitude for making us alive again. For making us feel that we are Filipinos and we have the significant roles in this society. You quench our thirst for an honest and real government of the people.

I know that you will have a long, treacherous path to take, but don’t get tired or think that you are alone. I, Mutya, promise to support you in your undertakings and battles for the best interest of this good and blessed nation.

Mabuhay ang Pilipinas! Mabuhay ka President. Duterte!

Leave a Reply

