This is only a sad reminder to all airline companies in the Philippines.

If you can’t handle our luggage carefully and with due respect to our belongings, then be honest, so that we can use, metal covered bags, which could prevent molestation, from the heavy and inconsiderate hands of your ground personnel.

I am a constant patron. I love to fly.

Last Saturday, we took the morning flight from Iloilo to Manila. We chose the airline which is known to provide excellent service to passengers. I have no bitter feelings before that event, aside of course, to some delayed departure and arrivals, which I understand, not their fault. Airport in the Philippines are congested. Only in the Philippines where airplanes are falling in line with passengers on board, wasting their time waiting for the plane to fly, one by one. The airport is starting to become the streets of EDSA.

It was a smooth flight, as expected but not until I witnessed how the porters handled the bags. They were throwing it on the carousel without regards to the contents of the luggage– which possessed my humanity. They seemed that they were in a hurry. I could see them through the rubber curtains near the carousel.

For instance, a guitar container, with a sticker labelled “FRAGILE”, was treated as if it contains cotton. The man threw the guitar, and I heard the high note from the strong impact. I closed my eyes and prayed that my bags would not end up with the same barbaric fate.

In addition, the precious bag of my office mate was very dirty. I don’t know what happened under the plane. I can speculate but I want concrete explanations. Also, the bag of our cameraman was severed. My bag was safe, but with scars from the claws of careless men. I swallowed my dismay, but, I’m sorry, I have to say this. I have to say that the airline disappointed me.

I believe that a person with a real heart of the Filipino will not destroy our bags.

Our bags are the extension of our being, of our existence. They are not merely leather or plastic, but it figuratively possess our skin, also, capable of feeling pain from your inhumane treatment.

The bags possess significant meaning and with imprints of happy experiences, from various travels and escapades, that when destroyed, will hurt our trusting feelings. If you are really the heart of the Filipino, please take good care for our bags. The care should include respect for our luggage.

Airline companies should admonish and teach its personnel about basic respect both to passengers and his/her belongings. It is more acceptable to have no snacks while on the air than handling our bags without dignity.

We don’t need your sky treats; we need your caring hands.

Now, since the damage has been done, I hope that airline companies should take necessary steps to ensure that passengers’ bags should be under the care of passionate and caring hands- a typical trait of a Filipino.

It takes common sense to perform basic luggage care, but the irony holds true, that if you can’t even treat non-living things with respect, then, what more should living things expect from you?

Don’t wait for people to associate your brand with hard, careless and destructive hands.

Because believe me, the bags are speaking, and I will echo this to you.

-MutyaRN 

*photo not from the author. 

 

Leave a Reply

